Fix Chinese in 2 WEEKS: HSK1-9 Crazy Training Camp

Stick to Learning 2 hours/day. Free link inside [HSK1-9 & 11000+ vocabularies & 3000+ Characters & Grammars]

What is the HSK and why do we need a new one?

What you’ll learn

  • HSK Listening.
  • HSK Speaking.
  • HSK Reading.
  • HSK Writing.

Course Content

  • HSK –> 5 lectures • 32min.
  • HSK1 Test Answer & Explanation –> 0 lectures • 0min.

Fix Chinese in 2 WEEKS: HSK1-9 Crazy Training Camp


What is the HSK and why do we need a new one?

The HSK, officially called the 汉语水平考试 (Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì), is a Chinese proficiency test popular in mainland China and many other countries around the world. It’s only available in simplified Mandarin Chinese and tests reading, writing and listening. Students who want proof of their speaking proficiency must take a different test, the HSKK.

The current HSK and its discontents

In an effort to make the HSK more accessible to students with non-Asian backgrounds, this early version of the HSK was revised. The current version as we know it today was released in 2010. It consists of six different levels that get progressively harder as you go along.

This reform was a success in that it made the test more accessible and likely helped to contribute to the HSK’s current popularity among Chinese language learners. However, many argue that the current version of the HSK is now too easy and that those who are able to pass the highest level, HSK 6, are still far from fluent.

New HSK, new content

Since the new HSK has yet to be released, most of the information we currently have about the test content is just speculation. However, based on a mixture of concrete facts drawn from official announcements and educated guesses based on the development and design of the current HSK, we can make several informed assumptions about the content of the new HSK.

The current HSK exam tests listening, reading and writing skills. These skills will also be tested on the new HSK, with the addition of a fourth skill: translation. On the new test, students’ translation skills will be tested on all three of the intermediate level tests, that is, levels 4, 5 and 6. The Advanced Stage test for levels 7, 8 and 9 will also include a translation section to test students’ professional translation skills.

According to media sources, these new translation sections will require students to be able to translate from Chinese into English and vice versa. Therefore, if you aren’t a native English speaker, you may need to brush up on your English writing skills before attempting the new HSK.

In addition to the new translation section, it’s also very likely that students will be tested on a much greater number of vocabulary words. While no specific new vocabulary lists have been officially released, it is possible to make some educated guesses about new vocabulary requirements based on what’s included in the new Chinese Proficiency Standards.

Get Tutorial